2004-03-29 � 5:12 p.m.

HOWARD SHORE MOOT!!!

Now, I've had Moots in the past, and I love them... but this one had so many high points to it. I wish it had been more than a single night. It was amazing! Columbus is a nice little city, easy to find your way around. Our hotel was very nice and I would've liked it better had the Mary Kay and child beauty pageant people not been there (talk about some of my worst nightmares!!!).... I'm sorry, but I despise child beauty pageants very much so.
I got to see all of my "ponies" there... well, not all of them, but many. Let me explain "ponies." We all met over at the chatrooms at BitofEarth.net, and it was called The Prancing Pony. "Ponies" or "Pony Pals" was a name dubbed on us when we would attend conventions in groups. Well, Bitofearth.net is now no more (after a huge fiasco that involved false identity and lots of shit), so we felt quite betrayed and tried to station ourselves on another board, but nothing really worked. So, we are now a LJ community for the most part. But they are some of my best friends... quite amazing people! We all attended the LOTR Symphony together. It was great! We then stayed at the bar until 2am, met some new people there, drank, and discussed LOTR and anything else that came to mind. When the bar closed we relocated to our hotel rooms and Kisa Hawklin read tarot cards for us until 5am! I got a rather nice "love" reading.. I'm hoping it comes true.
The next day we all went to the CD signing at a local Virigin Megastore. It was a blast... ran into some other people I knew there, and also met some people who I was in the opening ceremonies at The Gathering. It's a small LOTR world, indeed! So, Howard arrived and a group of fans near the front of the line broke out into the Hobbit Drinking Song for him. It took a while for me to get up there, but when I did he was really nice. He has a lovely signature. I got a pic with him, and I then asked him if my friend PeregrinPip and I could recreate the photo from the Golden Globes with him, Gwen Stephanie, and Queen Latifah... haha, that man is quite a sport. He let us do it, and many people in line clapped for us. haha! It was fun! I'm sad it ended so quickly though... everyone is now back in their own states, and we're looking forward to the next time we can all moot together.

Here are some pictures my friend Ros took

And here is a video that I made... it's Quicktime format, 19.1MB, and about 5 minutes long... the download may take a while if you have dial-up. Please right click and save: RIGHT CLICK AND SAVE HERE IF YOU WANT TO SEE IT

Previous� ~ � Next