2005-01-09 � 8:22 p.m.

Oh my. I've taken forever to post because I've been soooo friggin' tired since I returned from Chicago. I ended up having to get up at 5am to finish packing, and then I had to drag my very heavy luggage to the EL platform, through a train transfer, and then up and down the EL stairs. I feel like Superwoman now, because that was quite a task! I made it to the train station alive, though. Whew. The train was really empty for the ride home, so I got two seats to myself. How wonderful! When I got home yesterday my parents picked me up and we went to go get food. When I got home I took a nap, and it wasn't until I woke up from that nap that I realized how fatigued I truly was. I got up in time to watch "Lost" and then I was on the computer for a bit, but my brain wasn't ready to tackle LJ yet. When I got up this morning I had lovely snow to shovel before I could do anything. We got less snow with this blizzard, but it was accompanied with sleet, so there was an icy sheet on top of the snow making it very hard and heavy to shovel. I am still fatigued, but I'm at the candy store now, and surprise surprise, business is non existant. So, I get to catch up on my internet stuff... it only took me about 45 minutes to get through my friends list. Haha.

So, shall I recap my trip now? I think I shall...

Well, as I posted last time, I started the trip by hanging out with Marcie and James because none of my other friends were available yet. Here is a picture of Marcie in James' recording studio:

I actually ended up watching a ton of movies on this trip because I had lots of free time and Morgan has quite a library. The first night I watched Quills, and during the rest of the trip I watched Grosse Pointe Blank, An Ideal Husband, Secretary, and The Cider House Rules. But anyway, back on to the more productive time of the trip.

I got up on Monday around noonish and called Ninquelosse to talk about plans for the night. She was originally going to pick up Illanir and I and drive us downtown, but since there was a winter storm advisory Liz and I told her that we'd just take the train downtown and meet her there.
Liz came over to Morgan's apt. and we then left to head downtown. I got a lovely rememberance on the train, because Liz and I happened to sit right near a skitzo (or however you spell the word... whatever, but he was randomly just yelling out stuff). Liz put her makeup on while on the train, and I have no clue how that can be acheived without fucking it up, but I guess I just don't have as steady of a hand as she does.
When we got to the theatre we found that we were the first ones there. Tel was supposed to have been there already, but she ran somewhat late. Liz and I then parked ourselves on some benches. After a while some more people were there to help, but still no sign of Tel. Finally, Tel showed up and they started to set up outside the main entrance for the theatre. Near that entrance was a large Narnia display, so Liz and I peered into the wardrobe:

We dropped our stuff off with Tel and the other helpers so that we could run to get some dinner. We ended up going to Heaven on Seven because it's just down the escalator from the theatre. We splurged and got drinks with our dinners. I got a strawberry margarita and Liz got a bloody mary. It's strange, though, that they didn't card either of us. I guess were are starting to look our age... dammit! Now, for those of you who are unfamiliar... Heaven on Seven is a New Orleans themed restaurant... lots of hot sauce and spicy dinners. They even had the place all decked out for Mardi Gras already. Each table has an array of hot sauce, and some of them have interesting names, so naturally I had to take a picture:

Are those a little too hot for you, Liz!?

Hehe... nah, she just stuck her tongue out at me for that picture. The restaurant was really slow getting our meals. The food was good, but we had to scarf it, and it's a good thing I didn't finish mine, because my acid reflux was already reacting to what I ate. Liz was sweet and treated me to the dinner. Thanks Liz!!!!!!!!!!!!!
After eating we headed back up the escalator to get our costumes. We grabbed them and went to the ladies room to change. Nin met up with us while we were in the bathrooms. Ah, we now had three areas of Middle Earth in representation: Gondor, Rohan, and Rivendell. I think the theatre employees had fun with us all being there in costume, especially one of the consession guys... I think he may have been flirting, though.
We headed back out to the lobby to get our id tags and raffle tickets. Here we have Tel selling the tickets:

I bought 15 tickets and put them all in for the Play Along Pelennor Fields set. It included the Witchking on the Fell Beast, Eowyn, and Merry. I've wanted it for a long time, but no stores around here had it, and I didn't have the money. I figured I try, though, since the funds are going to a good cause in this case. I had Elan take a pic of me in my gown, since I don't have any yet... and we managed to get a few, even with the theatre traffic getting in our way:

We now went up to the theatre to claim our seats. We got in the third row. As I was entering the row I heard someone go, "Tig!?" I was Stacey!!! This was the first time I've met her in person! So, naturally, I had her pose for the camera:

After getting seats we went down to the concession stand. I owed Liz a box of Bunch a Crunch :) Steve showed up at this point, or as we were calling him "that Gollum guy." Apparently, people are still recognizing him from the AMC LOTR preshow thing. That's awesome. He has a copy of it on a disk, so I think he's gonna burn me a copy and send it so that I can post it on the Line Party webpage. I got a picture of Pearl Sandybucks (as she's known) with her concessions, because I thought it would only be correct that she be photographed with food since she was dressed as a hobbit. This is where the concession guy was, I think, flirting with me. Hehe. He was kinda cute, too.
So, back up to the theatre we go.
The movie starts. Wow... I forgot what this film looks like on the big screen. It looked great, but I wish the sound had been louder... since it was a DVD projector it didn't seem to work with the surround sound. Ah well.
At intermission we held our costume contest... but we need a picture of the three ladies from the three different lands:

A cute little Arwen girl won first prize because she got the loudest applause, and our own lovely Elan was second :) A group of three girls called The "Nazgirls" won third. They didn't have the best made costumes, but they got large applause because of their creativity. It didn't matter, though, because there were enough prizes for everyone who showed up in costume. As Liz said, "Everyone is a winner here." I am now convinced, though, that Liz would make a great talk show or infomercial host because of how she handled the MC-ing of the contest. Haha. I'll have pictures from the contest later... in fact, I'll have an album up later, these are just a few select pictures. So, hold on to your panties!
On to the second part of the movie. Yay for Eowyn and Faramir really hugely on the screen! I still cried a few tears when Frodo got on the ship... that little smile just does it to me all the time! Arrr!
When the movie was over Tel quickly drew the raffle tickets. I won the Pelennor Fields set!!!!! *does happy dance* Tel is going to mail it to me, because I guess it hadn't arrived in the mail in time. But nevertheless *does happy dance*!!!!
I also saw Lord Darken, as he's called, at this event. He's the one who totally wants me... okay, well, that was a nice way to put it. But, well, he does. Alas, if only I were in to metal guys with long hair.

So, the evening was lots of fun. After the movie I put all of these Topps cards out for people to take... there was much craziness that ensued from that... but they all got taken. Elan was nice enough to take Liz, Steve, and I back to our places for the night. It's a good thing that Liz and Morgan live close to each other. Thanks for the ride, Elan!!!! That night I watched another movie. Heh.

The next day I got up and went to my friends' house. I met up with JP there and we went to get Josie from work on her lunch break. We ended up just eating at Quizno's because the other place we were gonna go was closed. Poo. Phil met up with us there. It was good to see some old Roosevelt faces. They all seem to be doing well. We spent a lot of the eating time talking politics and how fed up with everything we are. JP is a really good person to get into these discussions with because he just goes ahead and says it. That's what I love about him. Josie had to leave us to go back to work :( Phil and I went back to JP's though (JP actually lives with Josie... and Jessica and Adam). They are actually renting a house... it's in behind an apartment building. It's way cool. Phil was just there shortly, but Jessica showed up for a few minutes, so I got a picture of all of us (which Jessica's boyfriend took for me):

After Phil left JP and I just sat around and talked a lot. We then walked to Starbucks because we were both feeling tired. I got a peppermint hot chocolate. Yummm! We went back to JP's, and lucky me, one of my fav "Simpson's" episodes came on (the Angry Dad one! Love it! How can you not... it has Stan Lee!). Josie got home from work and we talked more, but then they had to leave to go see a show at Steppenwolf. I went back to Morgan's and wrapped up my trip with a few more movies. The rest is all me getting home in the blizzard. It's really a good thing I didn't take a later train, because I may have gotten stranded there.

So, it was all good times, but I'm still super tired. Part of it is probably because Morgan has the most uncomfortable futon ever! So, I didn't sleep well while there.
Oh yeah, and it was strange... I was all sad that I didn't get to see Adam because he never stopped home while I was there. Well, would you know it... he got on the same train car as me when I was going to the train station! Talk about a coincedence! I guess he was on his way to work... he works at the Apple Store! Lucky him. So, I got to see almost everyone I wanted to. Almost. It was a good trip. I look forward to being able to travel again.

Previous� ~ � Next